Geoff Dickinson elected UFI president for 2023-24

The global association of the exhibition industry, UFI’s Board of Directors has elected Geoff Dickinson as UFI president for the 2023-24 period.

The UFI presidential trio for the 2022-23 term will, therefore, be:

  • Michael Duck (EVP – commercial development, Informa Markets, and EVP – commercial development, Group at Informa Group); president
  • Geoff Dickinson (CEO dmg events) incoming president
  • Monica Lee-Müller (managing director of Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (Management) Limited (HML), Hong Kong), outgoing president

This decision will come into effect at the conclusion of the 89th UFI Global Congress, which runs 14-17 November 2022, in Muscat, Sultanate of Oman.

Geoff Dickinson, a graduate of the University of Birmingham in the UK, began his career in publishing with emap in London. He worked for a variety of events businesses, holding numerous senior roles and he spent over a decade as an entrepreneur in Dubai launching two successful exhibitions businesses. In 2010 he returned to the corporate world by becoming the CEO of dmg events, a leading organiser of more than 80 events in 25 countries.
Monica Lee-Müller, UFI’s current president, says: “I am pleased to welcome Geoff to the UFI leadership team, alongside Michael Duck. I look forward to working with him, as he takes on the role of incoming president. I wish him every success in performing all the important duties that are required of this position. I know he will be a wonderful leader for our global industry.”
Geoff Dickinson says: “I just want to say a big thank you to the Board of UFI for supporting me to be the president in 2024.  I’ve loved working with UFI over the last couple of years. I would like to thank everybody very much for all of your support”.

True to the association’s global presence, UFI’s recent presidents have been from India (Anbu Varathan, 2020-21), the USA (Mary Larkin, 2019-20), South Africa (Craig Newman, 2018-19), Italy (Corrado Peraboni, 2017-18), Germany (Andreas Gruchow, 2016-17), Russia (Sergey Alexeev, 2015-16), Colombia (Andrés López-Valderrama, 2014-15) and France (Renaud Hamaide, 2013-14).

Photo: UFI's new presidential trio. Top left: Monica Lee-Müller; bottom, left: Michael Duck; right: Geoff Dickinson