WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards introduces new regional recognition

Tourism stakeholders across Africa have just one month to get their entries in for the World Travel Market WTM World Responsible Tourism Awards 2021, which for the first time has introduced regional awards categories, including Africa, India, Latin America and the Rest of World.

This year, all the Gold winners will have a chance to win an inaugural WTM World Responsible Tourism Global Award. The regional Gold and Silver Awards recipients, and the new Global winners, will be announced at WTM Virtual, taking place digitally between 8-9 November 2021.

This year’s categories reflect the relationship between tourism, responsibility and Covid-19:

  • Decarbonising Travel & Tourism
  • Sustaining Employees and Communities through the Pandemic
  • Destinations Building Back Better Post-Covid
  • Increasing Diversity in Tourism: How inclusive is our Industry?
  • Reducing Plastic Waste in the Environment
  • Growing the Local Economic Benefit

Megan Oberholzer, Reed Exhibitions South Africa portfolio director for travel, tourism and creative industries, said: “Don’t miss your opportunity to contribute to shining a spotlight, not only on your noteworthy responsible tourism initiatives, but also to showcase Africa as a continent that truly cares for people, places and the planet. There are so many incredible initiatives in Africa that deserve to be showcased as leading examples of responsible tourism and you have a month to get those entries in.”

Harold Goodwin, WTM’s responsible tourism advisor, added: “Every year, remarkable new examples of responsible businesses and destinations are ‘discovered’ and recognised through the Awards.”

Entries must be submitted by 31 August and more detail can be found here.